could not start does not start company file open Error 80040408 - QuickBooks doesn't start

Cause

This error comes directly from the Intuit Software Development Kit (SDK) and indicates that it is unable to open the requested QuickBooks company file because it is "not clear" to do so.

There are only eight possible causes:

  1. The QuickBooks Quick Start option is turned on.
  2. QuickBooks is currently opened by someone else in single-user mode.
  3. QuickBooks is currently opened by the same QuickBooks QQube user you set up to connect to QuickBooks.
  4. Different QuickBooks File Name. You have QuickBooks open to a different file, OR the name of the QuickBooks file has been changed, and no longer matches the name that was originally used when added to the QQube Configuration Tool.
  5. Different QuickBooks Path. This generally occurs if somebody moves the QuickBooks file, and it is now different than what you originally set up inside the QQube Configuration Tool.
  6. Multiple QuickBooks company files. QuickBooks is open to a particular company file before attempting to load multiple company files.
  7. In a Multi-User environment, the dedicated server user is logged out/shut down and QuickBooks can't run.
  8. You have more than one QQube Synchronizer running on the server or workstation. Invoke taskmgr.exe to see if qqubesynchronizer.exe is running (or check the user's startup folder) for users:
    1. other than the dedicated sync user in a multi-user environment
    2. other than the current user in a single-user workstation environment

Resolution

Cause 1. The QuickStart feature allows QuickBooks to be 'always running' but causes communication errors, and must be turned off. This is NOT a global preference - and why you log in as the QQube User to ensure its effect.

QuickBooks QuickStart Option

Cause 2. This usually happens when someone remotely logs in and needs to perform an 'Administrator' only task, requiring single user mode, to merge accounts, items.  Etc. Just requires awareness.

Cause 3. This can occur if you did not choose the specific QQube user to automatically open the QuickBooks file, and the user you did choose, is being logged into elsewhere.  This can also occur with an incorrect setup in a Remote Desktop / Terminal Services environment where several users are set to be the Synchronizer Computer on the server.  (See Cause 8. below.)

Cause 4. You can either change the QuickBooks company file name back to what was previously listed in the QQube Configuration Tool, or Add/Remove Company to reset the correct name. (You can't change the name of the company in the QQube Configuration Tool Directly).  If you have a multi-user version you can only do this on the server.

Cause 5. Use the QQube Configuration Tool to change the path. If you have a multi-user version you can only do this on the server.

Cause 6. Open up QuickBooks to NO company file, before attempting to load multiple QuickBooks files.  The Software Development Kit (SDK) does not allow developers to close a QuickBooks file that is already manually opened.

QuickBooks Open to No Company File

Cause 7. The key to fixing this error, is understanding and acknowledging the concept of having a dedicated, always running, server user that does nothing but allow the QuickBooks client and the QQube Database to communicate.  Please review the installation and requirements guides.

Cause 8.  There are several reasons why this would have occurred.

  1. You installed version 7.x under a user, that is different from
    1. the dedicated server synch user on a multi-user version of QQube 
    2. or the current user of QQube in a single-user, workstation environment.
  2. You installed a version prior to 7.x using the "install for all users" option in error or inadvertently. (This option has since been removed.)

What happens in either of these cases is that you have more than one synchronizer running, thus confusing the QQube synch process.

To fix the first possible reason under Cause 8, you need to uninstall from the person who orignally installed QQube under their name - ensuring that they have administrative rights for the uninstall process (do not right click and "Run as Adminstrator") Then reinstall under the either the dedicated synch user in a multi-user environment, or the desired user on a workstation in a single-user environment.  See https://clearify.com/wiki/view/157/installation

To fix the second possible reason for Cause 8, you need to do two things: (Only for versions earlier than 7.x)

  1. Login as the other users, and make sure that these are UNchecked for everybody EXCEPT for the dedicated synch server user.
  2. Ensure that the QQubeSycnrhonizer.exe is not listed in their user startup folder:

C:\Users\USERNAME\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\Startup

QQube Remote Desktop Client Settings

Comments

0 comments
Article is closed for comments.