Your company capacity can be best defined as this:
Company capacity is what your company should earn in revenue, if it accurately estimated all its job costs, and finished its jobs on-time.
Your next question is likely, "Well, how do you know that?". The answer is in your own numbers.
To calculate your company's capacity, we need one number that's not in you budget - what's your average chargeout rate per hour. What we're looking for here is "On average, what's your hourly rate for labor that you charge your customers?" The industry average is somewhere between $35/hr and $50/hr depending on the type of work and the location/region of the contractor.
To calculate your company capacity, we do this:
- Assuming you charged all your labor hours correctly - your field labor budget tells us how many "crew" or "billable" field hours are available, so we multiply that number by your average hourly rate to estimate what you should earn in revenue from labor. (Total field hours x Average Chargeout Rate/Hr = Total Potential Revenue From Labor)
- Next, you should also recover your equipment costs in your estimates, and recover some overhead and profit on those as well. So we take your equipment costs, add the overhead you should add (using whatever overhead recovery method your selected) and then add the net profit that the budget is targeting to estimate what you should recover from your equipment (Equipment Costs + Overhead Markup on Equipment + Budget's Net Profit Margin)
- Next, you should recover all your material costs in your estimates, so we take your material cost total, add overhead and profit - using your budget's overhead recovery system and target net profit to calculate what you should earn in revenue from installed materials (Material Costs + Overhead Markup on Materials + Budget's Net Profit Margin)
- Repeat the same for your subcontractor costs (Subcontactor Costs + Overhead Markup on Subs + Budget's Net Profit Margin)
- Finally - add equipment rental costs, plus profit (Equipment Rentals + Budget Net Profit Margin)
10,000 labor hrs @ $50/hr = $500,000 = Company Capacity
Sales Goal = $400,000
Company Capacity = $500,000
$400,000 (sales goal) divided by $500,000 (company capacity) = 80% Efficient
If you increase the company capacity and do not increase your sales goal then your efficiency rating is going to go down because you are charging more per hour.
10,000 labor hrs @ $60/hr = $600,000 = Company Capacity
Sales Goal = $400,000
Company Capacity = $600,000
$400,000 (sales goal) divided by $600,000 (company capacity) = 66% Efficient
And there you have it. Those are all your job costs and if you estimated those correctly, and added the right amount of overhead and profit your capacity is the amount of sales you should be earning, given your job costs.
Your efficiency rating is your Forecast Sales divided by Your Company Capacity. Basically it tells you the % of revenue you hope to earn vs. the percentage of revenue you should be earning if your company was firing/estimating/executing on all cylinders. The difference between you capacity and forecast revenue is waste and inefficiency.